The ’12 Bonnie & Clyde

#nowplaying Jay-Z featuring Beyonce – Bonnie and Clyde


Twenty-first century, Asian, doing what we like to do our way.


Twenty-one. Young. Hungry. Chasing dreams and goals, discovering purposes. Making our marks in the world, leaving legacies behind for the future generations to come. Forces of nature, forces to be reckoned with. The world is our oyster, and we live openly and on ever-expanding levels. We want to learn, grow, develop. Evolve. Aspiring visionaries, with a strong desire to strive and change the world. We choose which doors to open, which waves to ride. It is a chase, a hunt, a pursuit, to discover and explore every facet of our imagination and our world. We want to live large, think and dream big, achieve big. Movers and shakers, we dislike wasting even a minute, choosing to be up and about. We live our lives to the fullest, right to the very brim, making the most of it and everything else. Carpe diem.

We do not settle for average. We want dynamics, flavour, diversity. Exceptionality. We are advocates of individuality, and personal style in every aspect of our lives. There is just a delicious wildness to it all, a sort of rush no drug can ever live up to, something that excites the senses to such an irresistible extent. Because if you have it, own it. And flaunt it as well, if you like. Open up your lives, live the way you want. Own your lives, own who you are. Live it, and with intent. Be bold, be fearless. Go for what you want, and hone your craft.

And the best thing is having someone beside you while you are at it, shooting for the stars together. It is a feeling beyond elation, one of which words can hardly describe, because today, I got my thoroughest boy with me. He rides with me, the new Beyonce and Jay-Z (simply because I like the way it rhymes).

I’m mashin’ the gas, he’s grabbin’ the wheel, it’s true to the heart. We complement each other, connecting and communicating on similar wavelengths. It is not about dominating, but elevating one another to higher levels, constantly pushing boundaries and challenging ourselves. He is my pillar, my rock, my guardian angel, my guiding light. He gives me that push when I need it, to fuel my drive. We have our respective, individual goals but when the time calls for it, I’m right back to being his soldier. Supporting, encouraging, loving. We work as a team, because we are a team. Partners in crime, cruising down the global highway, conquering the world bit by bit. Because I’m a rider, and he’s a roller. Put us together, how are they going to stop us?

I am incredibly thankful for him and for everything he has done for and with me so far on this voyage together, because whatever I lack, he’s right over my shoulder. And when he’s off track, I’ll be keeping him focused. So let’s lock this down like it’s supposed to be.

Well-behaved women rarely make history.
Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

A quote I picked up from the book I’m currently reading. Personally, I think this applies to both genders. There is something within all of us that wants to come out and play. So go, run wild, roam free. Let’s go get ’em.

Pictures taken at Vista at The Trafalgar in London. Lyrics from Bonnie and Clyde in italic.

@ Facebook | deviantART

xo

PS. I was actually planning to post this up for our sixth month (which is in about two weeks or so) but as they say, what better time than now?

Leave a Reply

