Oh, Come Fill My Glass Up a Little More

I’ve been in for quite a ride ever since I touched down on home ground almost a good month back – a little rollercoaster of sorts, even – and for the past two fortnights or so, I’ve been going around, being out and about, recollecting my bearings and getting back into the rhythm of the Southeast Asian lifestyle and its perpetual equatorial summers. Suffice to say, it’s taking me a while to get used to settling down in KL and its capital cosmopolitanism once more – the city lights, the sleepless nights, the ongoing hustle and bustle which never seem to stop, the busy streets and hot asphalt, our very own thirty-degree concrete jungle – simply because I’ve gotten incredibly used to life in the UK, which differs so much in so many distinct ways, although that’s an entirely different story altogether.

So I finally got myself to sit down in front of my laptop one warm, balmy morning to write, and here I am, typing this down – an actual post filled to the brim with words, sans any pictures whatsoever. Organising my blog’s timeline (as well as getting back into writing constantly) would probably be one of my top priorities right now as it’s more or less all over the place, what with bits here and there, dates all in a disarray, a countless number of drafts unpublished. I love writing. I absolutely adore it. I find it to be one of the most fulfilling things I can possibly do, and I’ve been at it since I was so much younger, but I’ve been in and out of it all throughout university so I want to find the time and rediscover the dedication to write regularly, if not daily.

I’m also planning to start doing shoots once again to satiate the ever-expanding list of concepts I’ve come up with, which just tends to increase in number by the day with every single thing that catches my (relatively impressionable) eye – music videos, fashion editorials, films and campaigns, you name it. Photography (and the post-production behind it) has been taking up a lot of my time as well, especially since I’m so much more into it now than I ever was before, and I’ve just started developing my online portfolios to showcase my work – I’m actually thinking of delving deeper into creative direction: developing concepts, working on themes, creating storyboards, the works, but that’s still in its early stages. So it’s mostly about me having to manage my time and interests effectively in order to be able to pursue them all, and as I’m currently considered to be at leisure for the time being, I should be making the most of it before I start working and joining the nine-to-fivers.

My room is another project that I’ve taken under my wing, and it’s going to go on a complete revamp, although I’m still waiting for my shipment – six large boxes full of things accumulated in a span of three years – to arrive from the UK, which is actually due within the next month or so. I’ve already started my collections (which has been a growing dream of mine since I was young, fuelling my drive and desire for it), drawing inspiration from the likes of Daphne Guinness and Anna Dello Russo these days, and it’s about time I got myself that cream faux fur rug I’ve been eyeing for years and years. And since we’re on revamps, this blog needs a little fixing up too.

Digressing, mornings are still my favourite time of day even after an eight-hour time zone shift. The soft, muted sunlight, a steaming hot cup of my morning coffee, a good read. Mm, there’s hardly anything better than that. I love my morning reads – Flipboard on the iPhone (yes, I’ve finally gotten one after years of pining for it and needless to say, I’m absolutely satisfied with it) is brilliant, and I’ve also gotten back into reading religiously once more as I could barely find the time and desire to read anything that didn’t relate to my degree in university – presently, I’ve immersed myself in The Art of Seduction by Robert Greene, which is quite a heavy but extremely interesting read.

Pleasure is a feeling of being taken past our limits, of being overwhelmed – by another person, by an experience.

Speaking of pleasure, another reason to love the mornings? 6am FaceTime calls with my man. I do miss him immensely nowadays, but it’s a good time for the both of us because we now have plenty of time on our hands to fully focus on our individual careers and goals before we decide to settle down or anything of the sort, while working to keep our very unconventional long-distance relationship on fire, cue the eyebrow wiggle. We’ll be seeing each other in about three months when I head back to the UK for my (official!) graduation – another milestone worth noting, another win to celebrate – so I’m definitely looking forward to it.

In the meantime, something to look forward to would be the launch of H&M in KL next month, which is fantastic as Anna Dello Russo’s highly-anticipated collection, which I wrote about much earlier on, will also be released in this flagship store, so I’ll be saving up for a piece or two from the gold and turquoise-dominated line. Furthermore, I’ve already gotten an equally excited partner in crime to hit the store – and paint it gold, because red’s overrated – with on the very morning of the launch itself. Exciting, exciting times, from a female (and certain males) perspective of course.

All in all, there’s a whole lot of work to be done, and at times like this, I just wish there were forty-eight hours (or more) in a day instead of the usual twenty-four, because simply put, I’ve got to get my life here sorted out once again, for as familiar as it may seem, three years of absence do make things a little foreign in a way.

So there, a somewhat complete update on my life since my KLIA arrival, into heat waves and high temperatures – because some of us like it hot. Ah, it’s good to be back.

xo

Leave a Reply

