Watch Me Rising Like a Phoenix

I stumbled upon this little treasure chest of inspiration, LOMW (short for Laws of (the) Modern Woman) a while back, and I just had to share some of its many gems. It was initially a little like opening Pandora’s box – in a good way – as I found myself being pulled deeper and deeper into its depths, searching for a particular bit to share first, but I think this resonated with me the most,

I’ve gone through quite a bit of emotional turmoil since I arrived back home on Southeast Asian ground, mainly because I was used to (and still favour) the absolute freedom bestowed upon me whilst I was living in the UK, and in more ways than one at that. Coming back and being home for an indefinite period of time – not counting my trip back for my graduation at the end of the year, of course – do get a little overwhelming at times, what with my being exposed to the constraints and the (seemingly natural) lack of freedom once again, both of which were distinctly absent while I was overseas.

But that being said, I don’t want to limit myself anymore. It took me three whole years of being overseas to realise this, with much emphasis on my third and final year, given the circumstances I was put into. I’ve been more or less subject to constraint my entire life, to differing extents – both by myself and by external forces, and I no longer want to hold myself back, especially after coming to this realisation. I want to live in a world where I can just be, completely and authentically myself without being constantly pulled down by concerns about what others thought and the expectations they had of me. I no longer want to compare myself to others, but rather compete with no one but myself, and what I’m capable of achieving in this lifetime, pushing myself to my fullest potential time and time again, cultivating a lifelong learning process.

I’ve made my fair share of mistakes, but most importantly, I’ve learnt from all of them, every single one uncompromised, and I’ve moved on. I’ve gone through countless ups and downs, and I’ve faced adversity – right in the face at times, but I’m a much stronger person because of that, because of it all. And I’m proud to have come this far, immensely so. But I know I can go so much further, simply because I can feel it – the burning desire, the inextinguishable passion, the persistent drive – in myself.

I’ve learnt a whole lot from being overseas these past three years, more about myself than anything else in fact. I now know what I want in life, and what I want to attract into my life. I’ve found clarity, as well as being exposed to the sweet taste of constant discovery and growth. This fusion of sorts – the experience of possessing influence from both the East and West, rewarded me with substantial insight into myself and the things around me. I’m now used to being thrown out of my comfort zone, into the unknown – someplace new, uncharted territory. And with this comes a brand new sense of adventure, a rush of adrenaline I wasn’t accustomed to at first, but it’s incredibly addictive to say the least. The excitement, of wondering what’s going to happen.

Life is amazing – I love it. I love where I am, what I do, and who I’m with. I love more, I live more, and I don’t just simply exist. So yes, no more limits. To burning passions and being phoenixes. Have a brilliant weekend, all!

What people lack in life is not more reality but illusion, fantasy, play.. Seduction is a kind of theatre in real life, the meeting of illusion and reality.
– Robert Greene, The Art of Seduction

xo

Leave a Reply

